16 June – Virtual IDFR observance event

16 June – Virtual IDFR observance event

 

Observance event for the
International Day of Family Remittances:
Supporting remittance families build resilience in times of crisis
Tuesday, 16 June 2020
15:30 – 17:30 CEST / 9:30 – 11:30 EST
YouTube Live Streaming


AGENDA

15:30 CEST/09:30 EST

Welcome remarks                                                                                             

  • Written message from H.E. António Guterres, United Nations Secretary-General
  • Paul Winters, Associate Vice President, International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD)

15:40 CEST/09:40 EST

Observance of the International Day of Family Remittances 2020

High level remarks by                                                                                    

  • H.E. Pedro Brolo Vila, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Guatemala
  • H.E. Teodoro Locsin Jr., Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of the Philippines
  • H.E. James Duddridge, Minister for Africa of the United Kingdom
  • H.E. Ion Perju, Minister of Agriculture, Regional Development and Environment of the Republic of Moldova
  • H.E. Ms. Vero Henintsoa Andriamiarisoa, Charge d’Affaires, Permanent Mission of the Republic of Madagascar to the United Nations

16:05 CEST/10:05 EST

Remittance families in times of crisis: Building resilience in the first and last mile

Moderator: Pedro De Vasconcelos, Manager of the Financing Facility for Remittances, IFAD

  • Marie Chantal Uwitonze, President of the African Diaspora Network in Europe (ADNE)
  • Marina Manke, Head of Labour Mobility and Human Development Division, International Organization for Migration (IOM)
  • Fernando Jimenez-Ontiveros, General Manager, Development Promotion Fund, Spanish Agency for Cooperation and International Development (AECID)

Questions & Answers                                                                                           


16:30 CEST/10:30 EST

Remittance markets and enabling environments: A blue print for Action

Moderator: Harish Natarajan, Lead Financial Sector Specialist, Finance, Competitiveness & Innovation, World Bank

  • Amadou Cissè, Executive Director, African Institute of Remittances of the African Union (AIR)
  • Ashish Kumar, Policy Analyst, Financial Action Task Force (FATF)
  • Loreta Liutkutė Habchi, Vice President, Head of Public Policy Europe, Western Union (WU)

Questions & Answers


16:55 CEST/10:55 EST

Digitalisation of remittances: Towards the full coverage of the last mile

Moderator: Antonia Esser, Engagement Manager, Centre for Financial Regulation and Inclusion (CENFRI)

  • Killian Clifford, Policy & Advocacy Director, Mobile Money, GSMA
  • Michael Kent, Executive Chairman, Azimo
  • Lee Brenner, Public Policy and Communications Leader, Novi
  • Leon Isaacs, CEO, Developing Markets Associates Global (DMA Global)

Questions & Answers                                                                                                                                                                          


17:20 CEST/11:20 EST

Closing remarks

  • Message from Gilbert F. Houngbo, President of IFAD


CONCEPT NOTE


 


For questions during the event, please use the #familyremittances Twitter hashtag.

For any further information, write to familyremittances@ifad.org.